Cisco Archive command vise AAA accounting for configuration and change management

I have spent my time  for the past few weeks configuring Cisco Secure ACS  Tacacs+ for  Active Directory authentication and authorization.  The AAA accounting for change management however prove to be difficult.   I have used and setup the “Archive” feature for years now, however I did not know that I can send this to a syslog using “notify syslog”.  I actually prefer the “Archive” than the AAA accounting, it is so much simple to setup.

Switch#config term
Switch(config)#archive
Switch(config-archive)#log config
Switch(config-archive-log-cfg)#logging enable
Switch(config-archive-log-cfg)#logging size 500
Switch(config-archive-log-cfg)#hidekeys
Switch(config-archive-log-cfg)#notify syslog

TO VERIFY

Switch#sh archive log config all

The configuration I have above will track the user and all the command he/she issues  and store in on the local switch as well as send it to syslog.  May be next article I can do Cisco Secure ACS, but there’s really nothing special there, although I am using the vm version of ACS v5.3 which is probably worth mentioning.

Leave a Reply

